Paddock to Post IV – The Kentucky Derby

Paddock to Post IV – Kentucky Derby

By Michael – Louis Ingram, Editor 


(first presented May 1, 2008)


LOUISVILLE, KY (BASN/BASN NEWSROOM) — Well, race day is here. And just like another race to be held later this year, two of the more pivotal story lines involve a female (make that filly), and a Black man…

While three fillies (Regret, Winning Colors and Genuine Risk) have beat the boys in the past Derby efforts, Eight Belles goes to post in the hope of being number four.

Trained by Larry Jones and bred out of Unbridled’s Song, Eight Belles seems to have similar characteristics (save gender) to Jones’ aptly named Derby contender from last year, Hard Spun, who always seemed to run his oats off whenever he competed. Rider Gabriel Saez, an up-and-coming young talent who has been Jones’ first call on many of his victories, will be on the reins.

The possibility that a Black jockey will win the Run for the Roses is a very distinct one thanks to trainer Steve Asmussen and jockey Shaun Bridgmohan. The Jamaican – born star seeks to be the first black jockey to win a Derby in 105 years.

A field of 20 – the full allowed allotment – will line up later in hopes of capturing the first and most prestigious jewel in racing’s Triple Crown. So without further ado…


As is our longstanding policy, our play is made with our cash – no make-believe bucks here. If we win, you win. If we don’t we come back and get ’em another day.

The Play: I could be wrong, but here’s how I see it:

With a huge field and weather up in the air, one definite thing we believe is the post-time probable favorite, Big Brown (#20) will look to get to the front. We think Recapture the Glory (#18), a Risen Star colt, will follow.

Rider Kent Desormeaux, who says Big Brown is the best hoss he ever rode, will get every chance to prove it as he’ll be on the engine with ‘Glory and possibly Colonel John (#10) with our girl Eight Belles (#5), Court Vision (#4), and Visionaire (#8) in stalking position.

Closers Tale of Ekati (#2) and Pyro (#9) will likely sit mid-pack and avoid traffic jams. As long as Pyro doesn’t have to check stride, he should be in good shape when he begins his run…

Down the stretch, Big Brown will either shake off ‘Glory, or he will be harder to get rid of than in-laws, setting it up for Pyro to apply the hoss power needed to make history as Bridgmohan and Pyro get up in time to spank the favorite and win the 134th edition of the Kentucky Derby.

A $1 trifecta box with #4, #5, #8, #9, & 20 = $60; $20 win, place and show on #9 ($60); $1 trifecta wheel, #4, #5 & #9 with numbers, #1, #2, #4, #5, #7, #8, #9, #10, #18 and #20 = $48; $1 trifecta wheel #5, #9, #20 with numbers, #1, #2, #4, #5, #7, #8, #9, #10, and #18 = $48;

$1 superfecta partial, #9, #20 with #9, 20, with #2 #4, #5, #8, #10 with #2, #4, #5, #8, #10; $40; $1 trifecta wheel, #9 and #20 with all the horses = $36.

And a two dollar win bet on the filly Eight Belles #5 and on Pyro #9 to keep for history’s sake. Total bet = $296.00

Good luck today, and don’t forget when you see your hoss thundering down the stretch don’t be shy; scream at the top of your lungs to have your jockey…



Post Positions for Kentucky Derby 134
Post Horse Jockey Trainer ML Odds
1 Cool Coal Man Julian Leparoux Nick Zito 20-1
2 Tale of Ekati Eibar Coa Barclay Tagg 15-1
3 Anak Nakal Rafael Bejarano Nick Zito 30-1
4 Court Vision Garrett Gomez Bill Mott 20-1
5 Eight Belles Gabriel Saez Larry Jones 20-1
6 Z Fortune Robby Albarado Steve Asmussen 15-1
7 Big Truck Javier Castellano Barclay Tagg 50-1
8 Visionaire Jose Lezcano Micahel Matz 20-1
9 Pyro Shawn Bridgmohan Steve Asmussen 6-1
10 Colonel John Corey Nakatani Eoin Harty 4-1
11 Z Humor Rene Douglas Bill Mott 30-1
12 Smooth Air Manoel Cruz Bennie Stutts, Jr. 20-1
13 Bob Black Jack Richard Migliorie James Kasparoff 20-1
14 Monba Ramon Dominguez Todd Pletcher 15-1
15 Adriano Edgar Prado Graham Motion 30-1
16 Denis of Cork Calvin Borel David Carol 20-1
17 Cowboy Cal John Velazquez Todd Pletcher 20-1
18 Recapturetheglory E.T. Baird Louie Roussel III 20-1
19 Gayego Mike Smith Paulo Lobo 15-1
20 Big Brown Kent Desormeaux Rick Dutrow, Jr. 3-1

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s