Black College Football Hall Of Fame Announces 2017 Watch List for Black College Football Player Of The Year

Atlanta, Georgia – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) has announced today the 2017 Watch List for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University. Former North Carolina A&T State University, and current Chicago Bears running back Tarik Cohen was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016.

The winner of the 2017 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be honored with the Deacon Jones Trophy during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which takes place on February 10, 2018, in Atlanta at the College Football Hall of Fame. Four finalists will be unveiled on December 12.

“This is a way to recognize the tremendous talent in HBCU football today,” said Super Bowl MVP quarterback Doug Williams, a BCFHOF co-founder and 2011 inductee. “Through this Award, the Black College Football Hall of Fame is proud to showcase outstanding student-athletes.”

“The Deacon Jones Trophy has become the most prestigious football award for HBCUs,” said BCFHOF co-founder and 2012 inductee James Harris. “Deacon Jones was a pioneer and an icon, and still to this day represents the very best of Black College Football.”

The Watch List candidates have been selected based on past performance and future potential. Additions to the list may be made as the 2017 season progresses. The finalists and the winner will be chosen by a Selection Committee.


Keontre Anderson – Jackson State University
Kyle Anthony – Howard University
Sam Baptiste – Alabama State University
Jason Baxter – SC State University
Dillon Beard – Southern University and A&M College – Baton Rouge, LA
Elijah Bell – North Carolina A&T Athletics
Jordan Bentley – Alabama State University
Jarell Bright – Winston-Salem State University
Michael Brooks – Alcorn State University
Antonio Brown – North Carolina Central University
Trenton Cannon – Virginia State University
Martez Carter – Grambling State University
Tedrick Cofield – Albany State University
Lenorris Footman – Alcorn State Braves football
Khris Gardin – North Carolina A&T Aggies football
Timothy Gardner – Alcorn State Sports
Amir Hall – Bowie State University
Leroy Hill – North Carolina A&T
Marcus Holliday – Lane College
Austin Howard – Southern Jaguars Athletics
Daris Johnson – Bowie State Football
Yahkee Johnson – Hampton University- Official
Danny Johnson – Southern Jaguars football
Rodriquez Jones – Kentucky State University
Lavatiae Kelly – Virginia Union University
DeVante Kincade – Grambling State University Mighty Tiger Football Fanpage
Edward Kirkland – Benedict College
Darius Leonard – SC State Bulldogs
Brandon Lynch – Virginia State University Athletics
Alden McClellon – North Carolina Central University Department of Athletics
Johnathon McCrary – Clark Atlanta University
Okechi Ntiasagwe – Benedict College Tigers
Ebenezer Ogundeko – Tennessee State University
Brandon Parker – North Carolina A&T
Anthony Philyaw – Howard University Athletics
Lamar Raynard – North Carolina A&T
Diquan Richardson – Bethune-Cookman University
Trent Scott – Grambling State
Patrick Smith – Tennessee State University Tigers
David Smith – Morehouse College
Victor Tamba, Jr. – Bowie State Athletics
Dayshawn Taylor – South Carolina State
Carlo Thomas – Johnson C. Smith University
Osband Thompson – Tuskegee University Athletics
Aaron Tiller – Southern University
Brandon Varner – Grambling State
Herb Walker, Jr. – Morgan State University
Donovan Wheaton – Prairie View A&M University
Charles Williams – Benedict College

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s