2018 Black College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

ATLANTA — The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) has announced its Class of 2018. Seven inductees were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.

The Class of 2018 includes Harold Carmichael (Southern), Raymond Chester (Morgan State), Thomas “Hollywood” Henderson (Langston University), Leo “Lincoln Locomotive” Lewis (Lincoln (Mo)), Greg Lloyd (Fort Valley State), Everson Walls (Grambling State) as player inductees and Coach Bill Hayes (Winston-Salem State and North Carolina A&T).

“This class represents three Super Bowl rings, 18 Pro Bowl selections, and several Black College Football championships,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. “Take a look at what they’ve done off the field as well, and each has earned this incredible honor.”

Votes were tallied from the 12-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from previous BCFHOF inductees to determine the 2018 Inductees.

The Class of 2018 will be honored at the Ninth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on February 10, 2018. The Induction Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Inductees will also be recognized on ESPN at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 16th.

Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018


Wide Receiver … Southern University (1967-1970) … Began collegiate career as a walk-on … Member of the SWAC Hall of Fame … Selected by the Philadelphia Eagles in the 7th round of the 1971 NFL Draft … Eagles (1971-1983) … Dallas Cowboys (1984) … 14 seasons … Four-time Pro Bowl Selection … NFL receptions leader (1973) … NFL 1970s All-Decade Team … Retired as the Eagles’ all-time leader in receptions, receiving yards, receiving touchdowns and total touchdowns (79) … Born on September 22, 1949, in Jacksonville, Florida.


Tight End … Morgan State University (1966-1969) … Member of Morgan State’s 1968 undefeated team, scoring the Bears’ only touchdown in their historic victory over Grambling at Yankee Stadium … Member of 1970 College All-Star team … Selected by the Oakland Raiders with the 24th overall pick in the 1970 NFL Draft … Raiders (1970-1972; 1978-1981) … Baltimore Colts (1973-1977) … NFL Rookie of the Year (1970) … Four-time Pro Bowl Selection … Super Bowl Champion (1980) … Born on June 28, 1948, in Cambridge, Maryland.


Linebacker … Langston University (1971-1974) … Started collegiate career as a walk-on … Led Langston to 11-2 record and NAIA playoff berth in 1973 … Two-time NAIA All-American … Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year (1974) … Selected by the Dallas Cowboys with the 18th overall pick in the 1975 NFL Draft … Cowboys (1975-1979) … Also played for the San Francisco 49ers, Houston Oilers, and Miami Dolphins … seven seasons … NFL Pro Bowl selection (1978) … Super Bowl Champion (1977) … Born on March 1, 1953, in Austin, Texas.


Running Back … Lincoln (Mo) University (1951-1954) … Started every game and led the Blue Tigers to undefeated seasons in 1952 and 1953 … Still Lincoln’s all-time career leader in 4,457 rushing yards and 64 touchdowns … Selected by the Baltimore Colts in the 1955 NFL Draft, but elected to play in the Canadian Football League … Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1955-1966) … 12 seasons … Six-time All-Pro selection … Canadian Football Hall of Fame … College Football Hall of Fame … Born February 4, 1933, in Des Moines, Iowa … Died August 30, 2013.


Linebacker … Fort Valley State University (1984-1987) … Three-time All-SIAC selection … As a senior was selected as the SIAC Player of the year … First Team SBN All-American … Selected by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 6th Round of the 1988 NFL Draft) … Steelers (1988-1997) … Carolina Panthers (1998) … 11 seasons … Five Pro Bowl selections … Three-time All-Pro (1993-1995) … Two-time Steelers Team MVP … Member of the Steelers All-Time Team … Born May 26, 1965, in Miami, Florida.


Defensive Back … Grambling State University (1977-1980) … Named to Kodak 1-AA All-American Team and Black College All-American Team … Led nation with 11 interceptions as a senior … Signed by the Dallas Cowboys as an undrafted free agent in 1981 … Cowboys (1981-1989) … New York Giants (1990-1992) … Cleveland Browns (1992-1993) … 14 seasons … Four Pro Bowl selections … First Team All-Pro (1983) … Led the NFL in interceptions three seasons … Super Bowl Champion (1990) … SWAC Hall of Fame inductee … Born December 28, 1959, in Dallas, Texas.


Winston-Salem State University (1976-1987), North Carolina A&T University (1988-2002) … Won four CIAA titles at Winston-Salem State … Ranked as the #1 team in Division II after consecutive undefeated regular seasons … As head coach of the Aggies, Hayes won three Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) titles and made two Division I-AA playoff appearances … 1988 National Coach of the Year … Retired with a record of 195-104-2 … The all-time winningest football coach at both schools … Born June 1, 1943, in Durham, North Carolina.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s