SIAC Announces Football All-Conference Teams

FORT VALLEY, Ga.  — Miles running back Justin Hardy headlines the 2017 All-Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) football team after earning the Overall Player of the Year (MVP) and Offensive Player of the Year awards. The team, which features 26 student-athletes covering 30 positions, was voted on by the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

The SIAC Championship Game, scheduled for Nov. 11, will feature Tuskegee linebacker Osband Thompson, who was named Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive year, and Fort Valley State quarterback Slade Jarmon, who earned Newcomer of the Year plaudits, and Coach of the Year Kevin Porter. Miles defensive lineman MarQuel Shelton was tabbed Freshman of the Year.

Hardy, a junior from Homewood, Ala., leads the SIAC in total rushing yards (1,197), yards per game (119.7), rushing touchdowns (12), total touchdowns (13), and scoring (78 points). He is currently ninth in Division II in rushing yards and had six 100-yard games and four games with more than 165 yards, including a 210-yard, three touchdown effort against Central State. Hardy had eight plays of more than 50 yards and three touchdowns runs of longer than 80 yards, including a SIAC-long 86-yard touchdown run against Clark Atlanta.

Thompson, a junior from Miami, Fla., leads the SIAC and is second in the nation with 117 tackles, 5.5 for loss. He has added four interceptions with one returned for a touchdown and forced two fumbles. He has eight games with at least 10 tackles, including a season-high 16 tackles versus Albany State.

Jarmon, a junior from Pensacola, Fla., leads the SIAC in passing efficiency (141.5) and is second in passing yards (182.2) and total offense (199) per game. He has completed 119-of-207 passes for 1,640 yards and 14 touchdowns while rushing for two more scores. Jarmon had two games where he threw four touchdown passes, one coming against Lane, where he was 19-of-24 for 293 yards.

Shelton, a true freshman defensive end from Bessemer, Ala., enjoyed a strong initial campaign. He had 41 tackles where he is tied for the league lead in sacks (9.5) and third in tackles for loss (14). His best performance came against Clark Atlanta, where he set single-game career highs in tackles (seven), solo tackles (six), tackles for loss (3.5), and sacks (2.5).

Porter, in his second season, has led the Wildcats to a 5-4 record and a second straight Eastern Division title after going 5-1 in conference play. He has won 10 games in his two seasons at FVSU and will look to win a second SIAC title in as many years.

The All-Conference team features three student-athletes who were selected at multiple positions. Kentucky State’s Brett Sylve earned three spots on the team, with First Team nods at running back and kick returner and a Second Team pick at punt returner. Miles’ Nick Christiansen was selected as the First Team kicker and punter while Clark Atlanta’s Deandre Jackson was named as a First Team wide receiver and a Second Team kick returner.

First  Team

Johnathon McCrary Quarterback Clark Atlanta Ellenwood, Ga
Rodney Morris Tight End Clark Atlanta Atlanta, Ga
Deandre Jackson Wide Receiver Clark Atlanta Atlanta, Ga
Okechi Ntiasagwe Wide Receiver Benedict Columbia, SC
Justin Hardy Running Back Miles Homewood, AL
Brett Sylve Running Back Kentucky State Hammond, La.
Jamie Glenn Offensive Lineman Albany State Snellville, Ga
Derrick Tucker Offensive Lineman Miles Sweet Water, Ala.
Justin Brown Offensive Lineman Benedict Marietta, Ga
Darrius Hicks Offensive Lineman Fort Valley State Camilla, Ga
Leward Brown Offensive Lineman Tuskegee Miami, FL
Kaelan Bonds Defensive Lineman Miles Florence, Ala.
Marquel Shelton Defensive Lineman Miles Bessemer, Ala.
Rodriquez Jones Defensive Lineman Kentucky State Hampton, Va.
Zavondric Shingleton Defensive Lineman Albany State Millen, Ga
David Smith Linebacker Morehouse Newport News, VA
Osband Thompson Linebacker Tuskegee Miami, Fl.
Anthony Hardy Linebacker Miles Demopolis, Ala.
Jawaski Randle Defensive Back Miles Albany, Ga
Jonah McCutcheaon Defensive Back Tuskegee Mobile, Ala.
Cameron Young Defensive Back Fort Valley State Eastman, Ga
Charles Dudley Defensive Back Lane Douglassville, Ga
Nick Christiansen Kicker Miles Clayton, NC
Nick Christiansen Punter Miles Clayton, NC
Brett Sylve Kick Returner Kentucky State Hammond, La.
Lorenzo Smothers Punt Returner Fort Valley State Buena Vista, Ga

Second Team

Slade Jarmon Quarterback Fort Valley State Pensacola, Fl
Ryan Edwards Tight End Morehouse Atlanta, Ga
Johnathon Sanders Wide Receiver Clark Atlanta East Point, Ga
Amyr Smith Wide Receiver Morehouse Atlanta, Ga
Hoderick Lowe Running Back Tuskegee Atlanta, Ga
McKinley Habersham Running Back Albany State Savannah, Ga
Marcus Campbell Offensive Lineman Kentucky State Radcliff, Ky.
Roger Womack Offensive Lineman Miles Birmingham, Ala.
Craig Hinson Offensive Lineman Benedict Hephzibah, Ga
Max Williams Offensive Lineman Clark Atlanta Marianna, Fl.
Tedric Cofield Offensive Lineman Albany State Atlanta, Ga
Demetrius Harris Defensive Lineman Fort Valley State Decatur, Ga
Antonio Johnson Defensive Lineman Morehouse Birmingham, Ala.
Bundrea Conway Defensive Lineman Morehouse Lansing, MI
Walter Tucker Defensive Lineman Fort Valley State Melrose, Fl.
Austin Stephens Linebacker Miles Mumford, Ala.
Kailen Abrams Linebacker Central State Detroit, Mi.
Marquez Thomas Linebacker Albany State Perry, Ga
Quantavious Singletary Defensive Back Clark Atlanta Moultrie, Ga.
Nicco Whigham Defensive Back Fort Valley State North Lauderdale, Fl.
Jaylin Boyd Defensive Back Albany State Fairburn, Ga
Edward Kirkland Defensive Back Benedict Columbia, SC
Juan Serna Kicker Fort Valley State Douglassville, Ga
Tory Mimbs Punter Benedict Sandersville, Ga
Deandre Jackson Kick Returner Clark Atlanta Atlanta, Ga
Brett Sylve Punt Returner Kentucky State Hammond, La.

Overall Player of the Year (MVP):
Justin Hardy, RB, Miles

Offensive Player of the Year:
Justin Hardy, RB, Miles

Defensive Player of the Year:
Osband Thompson, LB, Tuskegee

Freshman of the Year:
MarQuel Shelton, DL, Miles

Newcomer of the Year:
Slade Jarman, QB, FVSU

Coach of the Year:
Kevin Porter, FVSU

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s