100 Years Of HBCU Greatness: By The Numbers (#21-30)

By Anthony McClean, Editor In Chief Emeritus

The National Football League spent the entire 2019 season in celebration of their 100th anniversary. From Jim Thorpe to Jim Brown, Red Grange to Mean Joe Greene, and everyone in between, there is plenty to celebrate.

We here at BASN Newsroom will join in the celebration as we take our own unique look at pro football’s 100th anniversary. Throughout the year, we’ll celebrate the greatest HBCU products in pro football history and their contributions.

Since so many HBCU players have left an indelible mark on the history of the league, there are so many ways we can display and tell their stories. We decided to take a simple approach in telling these stories — simply by the numbers.

Over the course of the year, we’ll list the greatest HBCU players in NFL history by the numbers. Now there will be some duplicates along the way, but it just further emphasizes the importance and greatness of their careers.

Last time, we did numbers 11 through 20. Today, it’s 21 through 30.

21 Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie (Tennessee State) DB

22 Bob Hayes (Florida A&M) WR

24 Everson Walls (Grambling State) DB

24 Willie Brown (Grambling State) DB

27 Ken Houston (Prairie View A&M) DB

27 Rashean Mathis (Bethune-Cookman) DB

28 Willie Galimore (Florida A&M) RB

29 Harold Jackson (Jackson State) WR

29 Albert Lewis (Grambling State) DB

Next: Numbers 31 through 40.

Anthony McClean can be reached via email at anthonymcclean@basnnewsroom.com.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s